Author Interview: Anne Conley

Yesterday I did a review of Anne Conley’s book Wire (book 2 in the Pierce Securities romantic suspense series). Check it out here if you haven’t already. While reading her book, I found several elements that made me want to learn more. Here’s what I asked (and her answers too, if you really must have them 🙂  )…

1.  I just finished reading Wire, which is book number two in your Pierce Securities series. Which came first: the idea for the series or an individual book? Which is harder for you and how do you work yourself through the more difficult side of the plotting/planning?

I was just finishing my Stories of Serendipity series, which was my first willy-nilly, extremely organic foray into writing for public consumption.  I knew I needed a new series to start, and wanted to do something a little different, so I thought romantic suspense would be fun.  The idea for the series was what came first—a securities team.  But I wanted them to be different from others, so they are all guys who for some reason or another don’t quit fit in with their ‘real life’ rolls.  For example, in the first book, Craze, Ryan is ex-Coast Guard who can’t stand working with pleasure boaters on Lake Travis, because he’s seen too many disasters in his work.

To get myself through the more difficult aspects, I find it’s advantageous to take a step away from it.  That’s one reason why I have multiple works in progress at any given time. Chocolate helps too.

2.  On the book level, it seems as if (for this series) the books are connected through the men (since they are the employees of Pierce Securities, which also lends its name to the series as a whole). Did you come up with the men first, and then create a plot and woman to him, or did you come up with a plot (such as the gaming and hacking centered plot in Wire) and then create a man to fit that?

The men came first, and the plots afterward.  For example, Evan, from Wire is a hot geek, which I find awesome.  His story came after.

3.  The star game of Paige’s company is based off of fairy tales. Which fairy tale is your favorite and why?

I like Beauty and the Beast.  In fact, Quinten’s story, when it comes, will be a modern adaptation of that fairy tale, for no particular reason, if all goes well.

4.  How many Pierce Securities books do you hope to write? Do you have a release date (or hoped for release date) for the next one? 

At the moment, there’s seven, but that’s apt to change.  The next one, Click, is due out toward the beginning of October.

5.  Finally, if you could be anything, what type and/or color of dragon would you be and why? More importantly, what would be the first book you placed in your literary horde and why?

Iridescent black waterhorse.  That’s a type of dragon, right?  The first book I’d have would be a Gutenberg Bible, because they’re beautiful, rare, and valuable—perfect for my horde.

Places to find Anne Conley:
Website: www.anneconley.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/anneconleyauthor
Twitter: @anneconley10
Email: anneconleyauthor@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

